Let’s Talk About “Kamisama Kiss” (DUB/SUB)–HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

The scene is set!

“High school student, Nanami Momozono–otherwise known as the protagonist of this story. As you can see, ordinarily darling Nanami is possessed of a lively beauty, but right now she appears to be rather worn out, as they say. And who could blame her? Unfortunately, Nanami’s father loves to gamble, therefore their household is awash in debt. It’s no wonder she’s like this. Oh, what a terribly unfeminine lunch box! Oh! I forgot to tell you the worst part!…” -Unnamed narrator

 

Kamisama Kiss title.jpgkamisama-kiss-title-2



Nanami, recently left to wander the streets in response to her deadbeat father’s gambling debts, stumbles upon a situation that one one ever could have predicted. Now, as a land god, she will have to do her best to fulfill her duties, take care of the shrine, and put up with a certain unrepentant yokai fox…



“Now, don’t worry. This isn’t one of those depressing stories. It’s a proper romantic comedy!” -Unnamed narrator


The narration says it all; Kamisama Kiss (or Kamisama Hajimemashita) is first and foremost a romantic comedy, and unapologetically one of the best I’ve ever seen. It has a wonderful plot line, fleshed out characters, light drama, amazing art, and too much heart to contain.

One of my favorite series and one worth watching again and again, I can’t recommend season 1 and season 2 highly enough. Though I watched the English dub and LOVED IT (J. Michael Tatum-Sebastian from Black Butler and Kyoya from Ouran HS Host Club-as Tomoe? I’M IN HEAVEN.), I’ve recently started watching bits in the original Japanese and find that I enjoy that as well. Goodness knows I’ll go back watch the Japanese as I have planned to do with Hakuouki.(Story for another time, and possibly a watch along but GO WATCH IT, GUYS. The English version has ANDREW LOVE. *squee*)

Also, where season 2 ends and leaves you screaming “WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!?” (No spoilers here!), the OVAs (Kamisama Kiss: Kako-hen) pick up and just make you fall in love all~~~ over again. The episodes of Kako-hen are currently only out in Japanese (Though I have high hopes–Funimaton, don’t let me down!), and you don’t want to miss them, so watching the original (at least of those episodes) is a must!

This show blows others like “The Wallflower,” and “Ore Monogatari!!” out of the water. (Though I really that last one, true enough!) It easily makes my top ten if not top five, but that’s a debate with myself for another time.

This is the series I referenced in my sleep-deprived state by saying “NO SERIOUSLY. GO WATCH IT NOW; I’LL WAIT.” And now I’m off to pray for a return via season 3 (unlikely) and watch an episode or two while I have the time. BUT HEY, BY THE WAY, HERE ARE SOME ADORABLE AND CATCHY INTROS FOR YOU. SEASON 2 HAS A DANCE PORTION AND I LOVE IT.

S1:

S2:

“Prepare to enjoy the thrills and chills to the very end!” -Narrator, again.

Until next time,

-Shoujothoughts

#anime #KamisamaKiss #KamisamaHajimemashita #romcom #romance #comedy #recommended #fantasy #JMichaelTatum

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About “Kamisama Kiss” (DUB/SUB)–HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  1. I definitely preferred the opening of season 1 to season 2, but it is very catchy. Loved this anime. It’s so cute and funny and I just enjoy spending time with the characters. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment