Anime That I Want to But Have Not Yet Seen (30 Day Anime Challenge, Day 6)

The easy answer to the question is that I await the dub of Black Butler: Book of the Atlantic with baited breath.

Buuutt~~~ I have no idea when the dub will be out, so let me be more practical for a moment.


I often feel close to exhausting my pool of interest and genre relevant material before discovering my latest obsession; however, are a few titles right now that I’m considering but haven’t had the time or energy to undertake. I won’t say anything specifically descriptive about these few shows, but I will list them here. If you would like to recommend any of them (or another show for that matter), please feel free! (I’m currently into the UtaPri and B-Project feel, if that helps. And then Magic-Kun! Renessance happened and I was just like, “Yep, it’s every girly and sparkly thing that I love, yep.”)

I am currently considering:

Fate/Zerofatezero

Psycho-Passpsychopass

Steins;Gatesteinsgate

Poco’s Udon World

 poco

Usagi Drop

usagi.jpg

Nodame Cantabile

Nodame Cantabile.jpg

Chihayafuru

chihayafuru

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood (or just FMA)


I’m sure there are more, but these are what first came to mind. Are any of these shows good for someone with my emotional and sometimes sparkly shoujo/josei and darkness/angst preferences? Let me know, if you would! Also, debate time! Which is better, FMA or FMAB?

Likewise, though I’m fairly new to anime, I have watched seemingly massive amounts of shoujo and feel comfortable giving recommendations in this area should anyone desire. I can give suggestions based on your preferences regarding…

1. Length of series
2. Comedy/tragedy/horror/action/romance?
3. Age of MC
4. Reverse Harem or One-to-one romance
5. Slice of life?
6. Supernatural?
7. Serious tone or self-mocking
8. Level of realism
9. Art style
10. Your favorite shows of the past


Keep on keeping on singing a song on the lawn until dawn!

-Shoujothoughts

6 thoughts on “Anime That I Want to But Have Not Yet Seen (30 Day Anime Challenge, Day 6)

    • shoujothoughts says:

      Yeah, it seems that way, but I find it a lot harder to get through serious material than sparkly girly nonsense, so most of them I continue to put off watching even if I would enjoy them in the end. It’s just more difficult for me to binge something like Fate/Zero in comparison to like B-project. A lot of these shows are outside my usually chosen demographic, and I don’t know that they scream romance.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. D says:

    Of the ones you’ve listed that I’m familiar with, my favorite is Fate Zero but that’s fairly dark and violent so if you’re in the mood for something lighter, and with more romance, Nodame Cantabile is pretty good. Alright it’s been years since I watched it but I enjoyed it at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shoujothoughts says:

      I started watching Fate Zero but when there was little romance to be found I became less dedicated, even though I know it has potential. Some parts were SO CREEPY, though! Is there a title in the “Fate” series that has the most romance?

      Nodame Cantabile is good? Noted. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Yeah, the romance in it is pretty low key. But Fate Stay Night is focused on romance as well. The main character falls for his Servant.

        Like

  2. Yankydoodledoo~♥ says:

    I would say Fate/Zero is my favorite anime series (I even read the light novel). But yes, if you’re into shoujo, then you’ll find very little romance here BUT I love Kiritsugu and Irisviel’s pairing. This isn’t a love story though, and I’m personally not into romance. With Fate series, You might want to consider Fate Stay/Night (Unlimited BLade Works) in 2015 than Fate/Stay Night in 2006. One point is about the art, another is because of story-telling. 2006 FSN is quite boring.
    Regarding FMAB and FMA, I prefer FMAB. One because of the art, and second, it has more depth.
    If you would consider, you may try watching anime short films on YouTube. They’re usually one-shot stories, about an hour long, with so many genres to choose from. With shoujo, you might want Hotarubi no Mori E, and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, both one-shot films

    Like

Leave a Reply

