First Impressions: “Kiss Him, Not Me!” (SUB)

BEFORE WE BEGIN…

Very Quick Plot Synopsis-ish Bit: In “Kiss Him, Not Me!” a MAJOR BL fan/otaku gets depressed over the loss of a favorite media character and stops eating, resulting in her losing enormous amounts of weight and becoming the object of affection for boys who before had no interest in her. She, however, can only seem to ship them with each other. (I kid you not, you can’t make this stuff up.)i-am-not-even-kidding


Let me preface this; I’m not into BL. It’s not my thing. That said, I am only mildly afraid going into “Date Him, Not Me!” I am CONFIDENT that I will regret this. Everything from the shallowness of the main male characters to the potential BL aspect… No, I lied, I’m TOTALLY afraid of what I’m about to witness, but… I’m bored. So, here we go!

Episode 1:

  • “The prince should be with the princess. Who decided that?” Oh, God. I already know where this is going.
  • Intro time, I knew it.
  • A )This song is pretty catchy, and B) they center on the main characters and I’m already laughing over what is about to happen. Maybe this won’t be so bad.
  • Heroine has pretty eyes. Can I even call her a heroine in this context, if all she does is ship people? MC, then. MC has pretty eyes.
  • The title card, again, my gosh, this premise.
  • Dear Lord, the bishie is strong in this one.
  • Could the guy in the butler-like suite be her gay best friend, please?
  • …the spa…What…? We haven’t even made it past the intro song.
  • That face when she’s sitting on the bed shipping them!! Is this going to be full of her fantasy screenshots, because BL isn’t really my thing…
  • I really hope this makes fun of BL like Ouran makes fun of Reverse Harem.
  • OH MY GOSH, HER NOW-DUBBED “GAY BEST BUTLER FRIEND” IS A WOMAN.
  • Well, now that that’s over… “A Real Life Otome Game?” If I was not happily married, I’d be like “sign me up!”
  • It’s a sports anime! (But not really.)
  • Dear Lord, she’s shipping them already. Right now. Ah, jeez.
  • “Score,” she says. ROFLOL!
  • I don’t see how losing weight is going to change this girls’ whole facial structure as well as the size of her eyes, but oooohkaaayy~~
  • This is not your daily bread, child. Don’t get ahead of yourself.
  • Ouch, that hurts.
  • “Don’t die!” Because that’s enough to kill her.
  • Is losing weight even going to change the COLOR of her eyes??
  • What the hell is a 5 x 7?
  • Oh, I should have waited like 2 seconds for them to explain.
  • I’m not sure I want to know the significance of 5 x 7 vs 7 X 5.
  • I mean, who doesn’t love seeing hot guys get along with each other? But, I mean…not in that context…
  • I sympathize with her shipping because I’ve been shipping since before I knew it was a thing and I will basically ship anytime and anywhere, so…
  • “MY IMAGINATION IS MORE THAN ENOUGH.” SERINUMA, GET AHOLD OF YOURSELF.
  • Serinuma: I’ma ship the whole world. Well, I mean, only the boy half, but still, I’ma ship it.
  • “He’s pretty harsh for such a pretty boy.” “But, doesn’t that make it better?” I mean… she’s not…wrong… *cringes at self*
  • Oh, gosh. “Yummy.” Oh, gosh.
  • I mean, “The colder he acts, the hotter he gets,” is also…not wrong… *cringes at self again* Me: You see, I have two types…
  • Okay, I’m shipping Mutsumi-senpai and Serinuma, just a little bit.
  • “You seem to have a weird connection to hot guys.” <– This is shoujo. Enough said.
  • She DOES have a lot of bishies worried over her.
  • Human cushion. Ah, man.
  • Oh, man, their laughing at her. That’s not cool.
  • I KNEW that the second the one boy said, “WE’RE sorry,” that Kae would have a field day.
  • She lives for boy love and basically nothing else.
  • That screen shot. I’m laughing so hard at her rant that I’m hyperventilating.
  • Those eyes.
  • “Sorry if I spoil it on social media. I mean, I definitely will.” Girl, same. (Not really; I just wanted to say, “Girl, same.”)
  • The bishie is dying and SHE CAN’T HANDLE THIS.
  • Kae’s voice reminds me of the voices of some of the otakus from “Princess Jellyfish.”
  • Like, bro.
  • They are going to fall for her now and I CAN’T STAND IT.
  • SHE IS ONLY BOTHERED BECAUSE HE LOOKS LIKE HER BISHIE OMGEEEE
  • I can’t like this infirmary guy since he’s only being nice to her because she’s pretty.
  • For just a moment, I thought that I had missed it and that infirmary boy thought that guy-I-ship-Kae-with called Kae by some variant of her first name and that’s why he was so shocked. I actually rewatched that portion to figure out if I missed something… But, no. Had I watched another two seconds (that seems to be a trend with me today) I would have discovered that he just didn’t realize who she was… *rolls eyes*
  • He’s so shocked. Jeez.
  • I SHIP THEM. I SHIP THEM SO HARD.
  • Nothing’s changed, except that everyone is going to ask her out now.
  • She has her own reverse harem!
  • Don’t tell me it’s going to be like a five-way date.
  • “T-then, me too.” ROFL Yes, jump on that bandwagon. Clearly you are my fave.
  • …It IS a five-way date…
  • “What is this, an otome game?” “More like…” Me: A REVERSE HAREM ANIME!
  • “A scar created by a man can only be healed by another man?” Um…noooo???
  • Her, hanging out around the side of the building. Me, aloud: Oh, good Lord. (I need to stop saying that.)
  • … The TWILIGHT OF LOVE…? *rolls eyes*
  • “Seat Order Determined by Rock-Paper-Scissors.” Clearly, this is only fair.
  • No fantasies? Good luck with that.
  • Mean boy redeems himself: “God, this is boring.”
  • Shoulder leannnnn~~~~ ROFLOLOL
  • DID YOU NOT KNOW THAT OFFERING SOMEONE A TISSUE IS A DARK HORSE!?!?
  • “Away with you, dark thoughts.” XD
  • Awwwww, sh*t. He’s a-sneakin’.
  • I’ve decided to label them: Nice guy, ship-her-with guy, mean guy, and infirmary guy. Now we are all on the same page.
  • YOUR HEART IS BEATING FAST BECAUSE YOU ARE A STRAIGHT WOMAN GET YOUR HEAD OUT OF YOUR BUTTTTTTTT
  • That is going to be the best picture.
  • Who animated this? I’m going to have to check later.
  • She is going to get a nosebleed or something. A 5 x 7 shot, I swear.
  • What is wrong with you is that you’re a straight female. Get it together.
  • Karaoke is such a thing in Japan and I love that.
  • THE “OTOME” “OTAKU” SCALE.
  • The dramatic music. I am waiting for this reaction. Yes.
  • A) I ship it. B) All the other boys are like, “Ohhhh no you don’t, getting ahead like that!”
  • All the other boys are just so flabbergasted and then there’s ship-her-with guy all smiling calmly like, “I knew she was wonderful the whole time.”
  • “Why’d you even go on a date, Kae-chan?”
  • THE BACKGROUND SAYS, “I ❤ BL” and I can’t.

 

Let’s not lie. I’m totally going to watch this show again. I might even blog about it. We shall see. The whole thing is just so unreal that I’m highly amused. At this juncture, it is not at all what I had feared. And the fact that 3/4 boys are only into her because she’s hot now? I mean, I’m just looking at this whole thing as ridiculous, so whatevs.

I mean, she ships. I ship. We ship different things, but we ship, and it’s pretty hilarious.tumblr_lmputme3co1qa6q7k_large.jpg

Until next time,

Shoujothoughts

3 thoughts on “First Impressions: “Kiss Him, Not Me!” (SUB)

  1. Lethargic Ramblings says:

    Glad you’re enjoying this one, Shoujo!

    You should totally blog about this again sometime, your reactions were fun to read.

    I’m yet to try this one out, but it seems like it could be really funny and entertaining.

    Looking forward to your next post! ^^

    Like

    • shoujothoughts says:

      I can’t say much only one episode in, but I’d say you might want to give it a shot. S’pretty funny so far. I can see so many ways in which this show could prove itself hilarious. I kinda sorta really hope the boys find out that she ships them with each other because I’d love to see that reaction!

      Thank you for saying something nice about my otaku rambles. I am truly glad someone finds my inner monologue amusing! 😀

      You know what? I think I might just make “Kiss Him, Not Me!” a Watch Along. It wasn’t in the plan, but… It might be fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lethargic Ramblings says:

        Of course I find your inner monologues amusing, they’re so natural and real that it makes things all the more hilarious haha.

        And you totally should! It could be a lot of fun! Looking forward to seeing more if you do!

        Like

Leave a Reply

