Let’s Talk About “Kamigami no Asobi” (SUB)-Recommended

Let us get one thing very clear, dear readers. As entertaining as this reverse harem shoujo anime turns out to be, let it be noted that THIS is the main purpose behind Kamigami no Asobi.

⬇↘⬇↙⬇↘⬇↙⬇

(Hehe, I made a meme.)

The plot has a lot of potential, in truth. The idea that a human girl gets trapped in what is basically another dimension with a variety of gods from different world mythologies and has to teach them to understand humanity in order for them to esacape? That’s a big task. It sounds awesome. And then you watch it.

And it is awesome..!

…in one of those so-bad-it-is-good kind of ways!

This shoujo did what it intended, and its intention answers the following: what is one trope that everyone who hates the reverse harem genere gives as a reason for their despise? What is that thing that gives all reverse harem a bad name? Kamigami no Asobi thrives on it. It does so unapologetically and without remorse.

This show held literally the most female-oriented fanservice that I have ever seen in a show. Nothing too traumatizing, but I was pretty shocked. And I LOVED it, because it was HILARIOUS. So, so, SO hilarious! A+

The overall concensus for me is a solid 7/10 just because the plot isn’t awful, the female protagonist isn’t without personality, one can do some shipping, and it’s just so dang unintentionally funny.

kamigami.jpg

MINOR SPOILER WARNING and a note to those familiar with shoujo tropes: the seemingly obligatory beach episode? It happens only 3 episodes in. And they never even get to swim. And the female MC is the *only* one who stays fully clothed. That should tell you everything you need to know about the show. I died laughing. You’re welcome.

-Shoujothoughts

(And, readers, the “Black Butler” post is coming… Uncontrollable fangirl ranting will ensue. Be warned! :P)

#KamigaminoAsobi #anime #reverseharem #comedy

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About “Kamigami no Asobi” (SUB)-Recommended

  1. Karandi says:

    While I found this show pleasant enough I kept getting distracted by the weird portrayal of some of the gods. I probably would have been happier if they’d made up their own group of gods rather than borrowing from around the world. There are some great moments in the show but ultimately it is kind of forgettable.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

    • shoujothoughts says:

      See, because I’ve always enjoyed Greek (and to a lesser extent)Norse mythology, I really liked that they included the proper deities. Plus, I know a little bit (stresses “little bit”) about Japanese mythology since I started watching anime, so that was really cool for me.

      Like, that stuff that Zeus did? Totally stuff that Zeus would do.

      I thought it was so funny as during the first episode I tired to peg which god she was getting introduced to based on their looks and behavior. Was I drinking a glass of wine and laughing my butt off? I can’t remember.

      And the obligatory red head. And I thought Baldr was Apollo. Gosh. This should be a Watch Along. Bah!

      I will agree that the show isn’t the best. I tend to be generous in my ratings. I think I will remember this show, though, if for no other reason than the hilarious fan service.

      Thanks so much for commenting. I’ve seen that you’ve been liking my posts and it really means a lot to know I have some people reading my little blog. 🙂 *happy dance*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

